Visit Central Region

San Ġwann
112.0 thousand

The Central Region of Malta is made up of the largest island, Malta, and the small islands of Gozo and Comino. It is known for its picturesque views, rich history and culture.

There are plenty of tourist attractions in this region. The most famous include the Megalithic temples at Hagar Qim and Mnajdra, which are over 5000 years old; St John's Co-Cathedral in Valletta; Mdina Old City; as well as The Blue Lagoon on Comino Island.

In addition to these must-see sights, Central Region also offers a variety of activities for visitors such as scuba diving, sailing trips around Comino Island and beautiful beaches perfect for swimming or sunbathing in summer months.

This area was very important during WW2 when it served as a base for the Allied Forces during their siege against Axis forces in Sicily. An interesting historical fact is that Malta was awarded with its first George Cross by King George VI in 1942 due to its heroic resistance against Italian air forces at that time.

Cities in Central Region

Birkirkara, St. Julian's, Sliema, San Ġwann, Attard