Visit Central Visayas

Central Visayas is a region in the Philippines located in the central part of the Visayas islands. It is composed of six provinces namely Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Leyte and Samar. Central Visayas is known for its amazing beaches and dive sites. Tourists can enjoy its many islands such as Camiguin Island or explore unique heritage spots like Magellan's Cross in Cebu City. The colonial architecture of Santo Nino Church and Fort San Pedro are also must-see places when visiting Central Visayas.

Aside from its stunning tourist attractions, Central Visayas is full of interesting historical facts as well. It was home to the first Philippine president Emilio Aguinaldo who declared independence here in 1898 during the Spanish-American War. Another noteworthy event that took place here was General Douglas MacArthur's retreat from Manila to Corregidor Island during World War II which helped protect his troops from Japanese forces until his return to liberate Manila three years later.
Central Visayas offers many attractions for tourists and history buffs alike with plenty of activities to explore throughout this beautiful region!